Below is an A-Z list of our database offerings. If you would like to access the passwords, please login to your school mcpsmd.net account and access the Databases Document. Many of the databases contain Accessibility Features for your use.
A
America's Historical NewspapersSearch and browse hundreds of U.S. newspapers published from 1690 through the 20th Century, including titles from all 50 present states. This fascinating content instantly makes history more real and relevant, giving students a better understanding of not only the past, but its lingering impact on present-day issues and events.
Annals of American HistoryExplore the rich and varied American history through primary sources such as speeches, historical accounts, memoirs, poems, images and multimedia.
B
Britannica Academic OnlineProvides over 100,000 new and revised articles, with contributions from more than 100 Nobel laureates, numerous heads of state, Pulitzer Prize winners, leading professors, and experts in all fields of human endeavor.
Britannica EscolarProvides a Spanish elementary encyclopedia, images, videos, and Spanish language learning materials.
Britannica ModernaA comprehensive Spanish language encyclopedia available today. It features 145,000 articles plus timelines, an atlas, and a dictionary.
Britannica Online JapanOffers quick access to reliable, comprehensive information, with more than 150,000 articles and 30,000 images. Britannica Online Japan is an essential resource for conducting thorough research for both native Japanese speakers and high school students learning Japanese.
Britannica SchoolProvides three encyclopedias in one: Encyclopaedia Britannica, Compton’s by Britannica and Britannica Elementary. You can choose in which level to begin your search, but can also search across all three levels.
C
Chilton Library Auto RepairProvides the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. There are thousands of year, make and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models.
D
Destiny DiscoverAccess to the online library catalog for the Poolesville High School Library. Users can access ebooks through the catalog.
SIRS DiscovererIncludes carefully selected full-text articles and images from more than 1,600 domestic and international newspapers, magazines, government documents, and websites.
E
Encyclopdia Universalisa valuable resource for all French language students.There is access to more than 38,000 articles including exclusive articles weekly and monthly dossiers to understand the issues and problems of our times; 25,000 media items; a world atlas with over 1400 maps; an integrated dictionary with 120,000 entries; and a guide to selected Web sites.
Encyclopdia Universalis JuniorA French-language Encyclopedia with a fresh look at a wide array of topics such as history, geography, science, and technology. In this engaging learning environment, French-language students will be challenged with progressively more complex vocabulary.
An Ebook platform delivered via internet browser to allow for unlimited simultaneous browsing of the PHS Library collection of EPoint books. View, take notes, highlight and save your work on this rich platform of selected titles.
F
FlipsterAccess downloadable, full-color popular magazines that you can access 24/7 on or off-campus. Our titles include Aperture, Art in America, ARTnews, The Atlantic, Backpacker, MIT Technology Review, The New Yorker, Outside, Scientific American, and
Wired.
G
Gale Academic OneFile SelectThis resource for academic research integrates the full text of scholarly publications and general interest periodicals from across the disciplines. Provides indexing for more than 5,000 periodicals, more than 2,800 in full text without any embargo.
Gale Books & AuthorsBooks and Authors provides opportunity to explore fiction genres and essential nonfiction titles. Includes a What Do I Read Next? to support readers advisory.
Gale General OneFileAllows researchers to find the information they want quickly. Included in General OneFile are reference, newspaper, and audio content that complements the resource's robust collection of magazines and journals.
Gale In Context: U.S. HistoryProvides information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. Includes full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Gale in Context High SchoolOffers current and authoritative information to meet the needs of today's learners with a mobile-responsive design that is easy to navigate.
Gale in Context Middle SchoolIncludes reference information in videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Categories cover a range of the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, U.S. and world history, literature, and more.
Gale in Context Opposing ViewpointsProvides information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Includes continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Gale OneFile Educator's Reference CompleteThis collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educatorfrom the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Educator's Reference Complete seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialtysuch as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
Gale OneFile NewsProvides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. Includes access to the New York Times.
I
Image QuestContains more than two million rights-cleared images from some of the best collections in the world.
M
MackinViaMackinVIA will direct you to Follett. Login using your Student ID (only the #) and your MCPS password.
Mango LanguagesLearn a new language with this interactive database that provides step by step lesson plans for 72 different languages. If you are just getting started, use your MCPS Google username and password to create an account.
Use Noodletools to create your works cited list. Share your list electronically with your teacher.
P
Proquest CentralA comprehensive, diverse, and relevant multidisciplinary research database. It provides access across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports all together on a powerful, user-friendly platform.
S
SoraSORA is our shared collection of digital books, both print and audio. The collection is shared across the district, with opportunities for each school to add to the collection for their own school.
Science DirectScience Direct is a collegiate level journal and ebook database. Explore scientific, technical, and medical research in the Physical Sciences, Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities. Includes over 250,000 open access articles.
SIRS DiscovererIncludes carefully selected full-text articles and images from more than 1,600 domestic and international newspapers, magazines, government documents, and websites.
SIRS Issues ResearcherProvides authoritative insight into the most-studied social issues by delivering the pros and cons from relevant, credible documents and graphics selected by trained editors and curated from over 2,000 global sources.
T
Teaching BooksA unique service that provides, book annotations, collection building tools, book recommendations, and author studies on children and young adult authors.
